Application for Al-Nahrain University Scholarship 2023 is now open (Click here)
International Students – Al-Nahrain University

Al-Nahrain University

Al-Nahrain University is a public university located in the capital city of Iraq, Baghdad. It was established in 1987 and offers undergraduate and graduate programs in a variety of fields such as medicine, pharmacy, engineering, science, law, political science and economics. The university has a mission to provide high-quality education, conduct research, and serve the community through various outreach programs. The name “Al-Nahrain University” meaning The Two Rivers (as in the two rivers of Iraq: Tigris and Euphrates).

Al-Nahrain University has a diverse student population and offers programs in Arabic and English languages. It is accredited by the Iraqi Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research and is a member of several international organizations such as the Association of Arab Universities. With two campuses in central Baghdad, Al-Nahrain University is widely viewed as one of the best universities in Iraq due to its strict admission requirements, updated curricula, and relatively better educational equipment.

After discontinuing its Inclusion and Diversity Program in 2003 due to the war, Al-Nahrain University has resumed the initiative in 2022, reaffirming its commitment to promoting diversity and inclusivity on campus.

 Kadhimiya (northern) campus

  1. College of Medicine (Founded in 1987)
  2. College of Law (Founded in 1987)
  3. The Higher Institute of Infertility and Assisted Reproduction Technologies (Founded in 1990)
  4. College of Pharmacy (Founded in 2014)

Jadiriyah (southern) campus

  1. College of Engineering (Founded in 1988)
  2. College of Science (Founded in 1988)
  3. College of Political Science (Founded in 1994)
  4. Biotechnology Research Center (Founded in 1999)
  5. College of Information Engineering (Founded in 2002)
  6. College of Biotechnology (Founded in 2012)
  7. College of Business Economics (Founded in 2009)
  8. Forensic DNA Center for Research & Training (Founded in 2010)
  9. Renewable Energy Research Center (Founded in 2014)